Dreamers

“Those who dream by day are cognizant of many things which escape those who dream only by night.”

Edgar Allan Poe

Girl with bird in cage, photo by Bruce Davidson

“Yes: I am a dreamer. For a dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world.”

Oscar Wilde

Meudon Observatory, Seine-et-Oise, photo by Martine Franck

“We spend a good part of our lives dreaming, especially when we’re awake.”

Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Oaxaca, México, photo by David Alan Harvey

 “I’m a painter in my dreams, you know.”

Kurt Vonnegut

Jackson Pollock in his painting studio

The other night, I was dreaming of London…dreaming of taking the Tube, the subway, which turned into a train, which I had to catch to get to my destination. It was moving slowly. Another train passed us, going the other way, we could see in through the windows, the people sitting in it were looking at us and – I recognized someone…

Was it you?

What were you doing in my dream?

Or was it the other way around, did my train switch tracks…and come into your dream?

There’s only one way to settle it: if you tell me what you were dreaming, we can compare notes.  Better tell me now.  Cause it’s late.  I need to get to bed.  If I don’t hear from you….then when your train goes by, I won’t be able to hear you, so hold up a piece of paper to the window, with your message printed legibly…

So

I

can

read

each

word.

Leave a Reply

