Year of the Rabbit

I was born in the Year of the Rabbit.

In the Calendar of the Chinese Zodiac, there are 12 signs, each with the name of the animal that symbolizes its qualities. The Rabbit, my own year, follows the Tiger, and precedes the Dragon.

According to Chinese custom, belief, and Zodiac mythology, if you are born in the Year of the Rabbit – if you are a rabbit – you are a good listener.  A good communicator.  And lucky.

I don’t know about #1. I try…but sometimes I find myself falling far short. #2 sometimes seems to fit me to the proverbial T…but sometimes I wonder.

But #3….definitely.

Luck has smiled on me. And surprised me. In ways I do not think I ever could have imagined. Especially in this year, 2011, the Year of the Rabbit.

One of the small surprises has been the discovery (thanks to the recommendation of una amiga catalana) of Frater Films in England, the partnership between Benji Davis and Jim Field – animators whose work is inventive, sometimes provocative, sometimes disturbing. And the discovery of this, their short animated film which, in their own words, “is to celebrate the return of the Rabbit in the Chinese Calendar. Been nice knowing you Mr. Tiger.”

The film, like all good films, holds surprises. And, in its own slyly humorous way, hides a Big Question: Why did the Rabbit cross the road? But 21st Century roads are fucking dangerous places….and if want to survive, you’d better have a little luck…even the Zodiacal kind.

Here it is –

As I write these words, 2012 is almost upon us, so the Dragon is almost here. But not to late for me to look back and say Gung Hay Fat Choy

or just to look in the mirror and say, Welcome back, Rabbit.

Leave a Reply

