MISSING: one brain

Anyone seen my brain?  It seems to have disappeared.

It was there one moment. Then the next….

Who knows?  Qui sait?  ¿Quién sabe?

I haven’t seen it lately….

But I seem to be doing fine without it.

No worries.

If you see it – or stumble across it – let me know…..okay?

If not….well….I can only think about the words of Albert Einstein –

“Any man who reads too much and uses his own brain too little falls into lazy habits of thinking.”

Definitely guilty of that sin on occasion.

And those of Picasso –

“If only we could pull out our brain and use only our eyes.”

Well that’s what I’m doing now, isn’t it?

I look out the window and think of what Emily Dickinson said –

“The brain is wider than the sky.”

So wide….sometimes it can’t fit inside a single head.

Nor can I answer Virginia Woolf’s question –

“My own brain is to me the most unaccountable of machinery – always buzzing, humming, soaring roaring diving, and then buried in mud. And why? What’s this passion for?”

Schopenhauer said the brain is a kind of parasite of our entire body, our human organism, a renter if you will, who temporarily lodges within the body. But even renters need fresh air from time to time….they need to get out and smell the smoke and smog and exhaust and pollution of the natural world…

But finally I – or that part of me which still functions, brainless, enough to type these words down so that you can read them – I return to the words of Michel de Montaigne, a wise Frenchman, who opined –

“It is good to rub and polish our brain against that of others.”

That’s what I’m doing here and now. My brain – that missing organ – seems to have returned. Perhaps this is an illusion – but Mark Twain advised us not to let go of our illusions; once they are gone, we may still exist, but according to Mr. Twain, we have ceased to live. So I’ll go with the illusion…and try to rub it a little harder….and polish it a little more…

And maybe I’ll even see your reflection, looking back at me.

Is that you? Your brain, I mean?   Funny….I didn’t realize you’d look that way.  Or maybe it’s me, the one looking funny?  Reflections are funny that way…

But that is you, isn’t it?

Right there?  Knocking at….the door?

Oh!  There’s several of you?  Well that’s okay.  You see….there’s several of me, too.

Well don’t just stand there.  It’s cold outside. Come on in.  The door’s not locked….it’s open.  Make yourself at home….

Welcome.  Bienvenus.  Bienvenidos.

2 comments on “MISSING: one brain

  1. Adriana Degetau says:

    Lobotomía

Leave a Reply

